San Elizario Presidio Chapel

  • Address
  • 1556 San Elizario Rd.
  • San Elizario, TX 79849
  • Hours of Operation
  • 7am-9:30am (M-F); Open for Mass (Sat/Sun)
  • For More Information
  • Phone: (915) 851-2333

In 1789, the Spanish Crown established “San Elceario”, named after the Catholic patron saint of the military, as a military presidio. Throughout the years, chapels were built but rendered useless due to weather and size.

The present chapel, built in 1877, has become the centerpiece of the San Elizario community. Built in a traditional Spanish Mission style, the chapel showcases round archways and golden-trimmed pillars.  The presidio chapel now serves as a full-functioning church and displays a picturesque vision of antiquated beauty and history.